Mort Webster and Lee Kump

G. Montgomery and Marion Mitchell Award for Innovative Teaching

This award is given in recognition of meritorious service represented by a single contribution or a series of contributions around a coherent theme. The contribution may represent application of knowledge in the creation of an activity or service useful to society. The achievement for which the candidate is to be honored shall have occurred or culminated during the five years preceding the nomination for the award.

The recipient shall be honored with a recognition memento and a monetary award at the Wilson Awards Banquet held each spring.

Nomination Procedure

Annually in December, the dean will invite nominations. The nomination packet submitted must include:

  • a letter from a department head or institute director providing a description or assessment of the innovative techniques employed by the nominee
  • a recent color high-resolution portrait photograph suitable for the program

The nomination materials should be submitted electronically to Diane Ault ( along with four hard copies sent to the Office of the Associate Dean for Graduate Education and Research in 248 Deike Building by no later than February 15. Nominations received by the deadline will be reviewed by a committee consisting of the dean and the associate deans in the college.

Past Recipients

  • 2018: Mort Webster
  • 2017: Timothy Bralower
  • 2016: Eugene Clothiaux and Jon Nese
  • 2015: Joshua Robinson and R. Allen Kimel
  • 2014: Anthony Robinson
  • 2013: Robert G. Crane
  • 2012: Petra Tschakert
  • 2011: David M. Bice
  • 2010: Eliza Richardson Marone
  • 2009: Todd Bacastow
  • 2008: Peter Heaney
  • 2007: Sarma Pisupati
  • 2006: Deryck Holdsworth
  • 2005: Cynthia Brewer
  • 2004: Richard Alley
  • 2003: David Babb, Peter Flemming, and Lee Grenci
  • 2002: Jonathan Mathews
  • 2001: Kevin Furlong
  • 2000: David DiBiase
  • 1999: Alistair Fraser

2018 Recipient

Mort Webster

Mort Webster, professor of energy engineering

View 2018 Program