Jon Nese and Lee Kump

Faculty Advising Award

Created in 2013, the Faculty Advising Award honors exceptional achievement in the advising of undergraduate students and expresses the gratitude and appreciation of the college. The recipient shall be honored with a recognition memento and a monetary award at the Wilson Awards Banquet held each spring.


This award is given in recognition of outstanding advising undertaken by faculty members to enhance the student’s experience at Penn State. The contribution may represent any facet of strong academic advising, including educational planning, exposure to research opportunities, identification of internships, or many other related topics. The achievement for which the candidate is to be honored shall have occurred or culminated during the five years preceding the nomination for the award.

Nomination Procedure

Annually in September, the Dean will invite nominations for the Faculty Advising Award from each department and institute. Nomination reminder will be sent out in December.  

Each department and institute may submit one nomination (submitted by the head or director) and the nomination packet should include: 

  • Letters of nomination from students or fellow faculty describing in sufficient detail the contribution by the faculty member to enhance the students’ advising experience
  • Recent high-resolution color photograph suitable for the program in jpeg format

The nomination materials should be submitted electronically to Diane Ault ( no later than February 15


Members of the college faculty, as defined by the College of Earth and Mineral Sciences' Constitution, are eligible.

Selection Procedure

Nominations received by the deadline will be reviewed by a committee consisting of the dean and the associate deans in the college.

Previous Recipients

  • 2019: Jon M. Nese
  • 2018: Luis Ayala
  • 2017: R. Allen Kimel
  • 2016: Peter Heaney
  • 2015: Yvette Richardson
  • 2014: Mark Klima
  • 2013: Brandi N. Robinson

2019 Faculty Advising Award

Jon Nese
Jon M. Nese, teaching professor in meteorlogy

View 2019 Program