G. Montgomery and Marion Hall Mitchell Award for Innovative Teaching

This award is given in recognition of meritorious service represented by a single contribution or a series of contributions around a coherent theme. The contribution may represent application of knowledge in the creation of an activity or service useful to society. The achievement for which the candidate is to be honored shall have occurred or culminated during the five years preceding the nomination for the award.

The recipient shall be honored with a recognition memento and a monetary award at the Wilson Awards Banquet held each spring.

Nomination Procedure

Annually in December, the dean will invite nominations. The nomination packet submitted must include:

  • a letter from a department head or institute director providing a description or assessment of the innovative techniques employed by the nominee
  • a recent color high-resolution portrait photograph suitable for the program

The nomination materials may be submitted electronically to Nichole Schlegel (nxl12@psu.edu) or sent to the Dean’s Office in 116 Deike Building by no later than February 15. Nominations received by the deadline will be reviewed by a committee consisting of the dean and the associate deans in the college.

Past Recipients

  • 2017: Timothy Bralower
  • 2016: Eugene Clothiaux and Jon Nese
  • 2015: Joshua Robinson and R. Allen Kimel
  • 2014: Anthony Robinson
  • 2013: Robert G. Crane
  • 2012: Petra Tschakert
  • 2011: David M. Bice
  • 2010: Eliza Richardson Marone
  • 2009: Todd Bacastow
  • 2008: Peter Heaney
  • 2007: Sarma Pisupati
  • 2006: Deryck Holdsworth
  • 2005: Cynthia Brewer
  • 2004: Richard Alley
  • 2003: David Babb, Peter Flemming, and Lee Grenci
  • 2002: Jonathan Mathews
  • 2001: Kevin Furlong
  • 2000: David DiBiase
  • 1999: Alistair Fraser

2017 Recipient

Timothy Bralower

Tim Bralower, professor of geosciences

View 2017 Program