Old Main

Academy Members

Election to the National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, or National Academy of Medicine is considered one of the highest professional honors among scientists, engineers, and health professionals. Each year, new members are elected by current members based on outstanding achievement and commitment to service.

American Academy of Arts and Sciences

  • Richard Alley, Evan Pugh Professor of Geosciences
  • James Kasting, Evan Pugh Professor of Geosciences

National Academy of Engineering

  • Frank Aplan, Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Metallurgy and Mineral Processing
  • Derek Elsworth, Professor of Energy and Geo-environmental Engineering
  • Richard Hogg, Professor Emeritus of Mineral Processing and Geo-Environmental Engineering
  • Charles Hosler, Professor of Meteorology and Senior Vice President for Research and Dean of the Graduate School, and Dean Emeritus
  • Kwadwo Osseo-Asare, Distinguished Professor of Metallurgy and Energy and Geo-Environmental Engineering
  • Raja Ramani, Professor Emeritus of Mining and Geo-Environmental Engineering
  • Della Roy, Professor Emeritus of Materials Science and Engineering
  • Barry Voight, Professor Emeritus of Geology and GeoEngineering

National Academy of Sciences

  • Richard Alley, Evan Pugh Professor of Geosciences
  • Susan Brantley, Distinguished Professor of Geosciences
  • Katherine Freeman, Evan Pugh Professor of Geosciences