The College of Earth and Mineral Sciences has a rich history dating back more than a century, from the original focus on mining engineering, to today's interdisciplinary focus on earth, energy, and materials sciences and engineering. The college was formed in 1896 and we held numerous events during 2021 to celebrate our 125th anniversary. Browse the sections below to view activities and for some, zoom recordings of events.
- 1859: The University (then known as the Pennsylvania Farmers' High School) offers its first course in geography and meteorology, a required course in the scientific and agricultural program.
- 1890: Penn State Board of Trustees approves the establishment of the Department of Mining Engineering.
- 1896: The growing Department of Mining Engineering is renamed to the School of Mines and was the beginning the current College of Earth and Minerals Sciences. Magnus Ihlseng served as dean until 1899.
Branding resources are for official Penn State use only. Please do not use unless affiliated with Penn State.
NOTE: If you need a different version of any of the branding resources (transparent background, etc.) please contact Patricia Craig at email@example.com.
Zoom Pride Month/125th Anniversary Mark
Note: We are not allowed to use the 125th Anniversary mark with official letterhead.