Faculty Senate

The University Faculty Senate is the representative body of Penn State’s faculty with legislative authority on all matters pertaining to the educational interests of the University and all educational matters that concern the faculties of more than one college. In addition, the Senate is recognized by the University as an advisory and consultative body to the President on all matters that may affect the attainment of the University’s educational objectives. The Senate is comprised of faculty senators who are elected from each college and campus. The College of Earth and Mineral Sciences has 7 senators.

EMS Faculty Senators

Term Expires 2017
James Adair (University Planning Committee)
Michael Hickner (Research, Scholarship, and Creative Activity Committee)

Term Expires 2018
Mark Patzkowsky (Faculty Affairs Committee)
Ljubisa Radovic (Curricular Affairs Committee)
Erica Smithwick (Vice-Chair, Faculty Benefits Committee)

Term Expires 2019

Beth King  (Vice-Chair, Outreach Committee, Committee and Rules Committee)
Ann Taylor (Secretary Admissions, Records, Scheduling, and Student Aid Committee, Committees and Rules Committee)

Learn more about the University Faculty Senate.