Guido Cervone and Lee Kump

George H. Deike, Jr. Research Grant

The purpose of the George H. Deike, Jr. Research Grant is to promote innovative research of high scholarly merit. The award is made annually to a tenure-track or fixed-term faculty member in the College of Earth and Mineral Sciences. The award recipient receives $50,000 from the George H. Deike, Jr. Research Endowment Fund.  These funds may be used for research expenses, travel and fieldwork expenses, graduate student support, or equipment purchases and maintenance. The award period is two years and any unspent balance at the end of the award period will be returned to the fund for reallocation.


One nominee may be submitted by each of the college's departments and interdisciplinary research institutes.

Nomination documents should include:

  • Title page including name, rank, department or institute affiliation
  • Summary of proposed research, limited to one page and written for nonspecialists
  • Narrative of three pages or less in which the problem is defined, the need, value or significance of the work is indicated, and the research plan is broadly outlined
  • Short vita, including relevant publications and experience
  • Proposed budget including fringe benefits and tuition

Submission Deadline

The department office should submit the nomination materials to Diane Ault ( along with four hard copies sent to the Office of the Associate Dean for Graduate Education and Research in 248 Deike Building by no later than February 15.

Proposal Evaluation

Proposals will be evaluated by a committee appointed by the dean using the following criteria:

  • Scientific and/or technical merits
  • Innovativeness of the research
  • Qualifications, experience and past performance of the proposer
  • Adequacy of facilities and equipment to accomplish the research
  • Reasonableness of the budget
  • Final selection will be based on the proposal evaluation and programmatic considerations

Award Announcement

The award will be announced at the Wilson Awards Banquet held each spring. 

Previous Recipients

Year Faculty/Department
2018 Guido Cervone - Geography
2017 Eugene Morgan - Energy and Mineral Engineering
2016 Timothy Bralower - Geosciences
2015 Jose Fuentes – Meteorology and Atmospheric Science
2014 Luis Ayala – Energy and Mineral Engineering
2013 Christopher Fowler - Geography
2012 Donald Fisher - Geosciences
2011 Zuleima Karpyn – Energy and Mineral Engineering
2010 Erica Smithwick - Geography
2009 Matthew Fantle - Geosciences
2008 Petra Tschakert - Geography
2007 Qing Wang - Materials Science and Engineering
2006 Angela Lueking - Energy and Mineral Engineering
2005 Kenneth Davis - Meteorology and Atmospheric Science
2004 Vladislav Kecojevic - Energy and Mineral Engineering
Christopher L. Muhlstein - Materials Science and Engineering
2003 Paul Markowski - Meteorology and Atmospheric Science
Yvett Richardson - Meteorology and Atmospheric Science
Johannes Verlinde - Meteorology and Atmospheric Science
2002 Tanya Furman - Geosciences
2001 Long-Qing Chen- Materials Science and Engineering
2000 Michael Arthur - Geosciences
Avrami Grader - Energy and Mineral Engineering
1999 Dennis Lamb - Meteorology and Atmospheric Science
Alan Taylor - Geography
1998 David Green - Materials Science and Engineering
1997 Kevin Furlong - Geosciences
1996 Cynthia Brewer - Geography
1995 Altaf Carim - Materials Science and Engineering
1994 Lee Kump - Geosciences
1993 Louise Michaud - Energy and Mineral Engineering
1992 Paul Brown – Materials Science and Engineering
Brent Yarnal - Geography

2018 Recipient

The 2018 recipient of the George H. Deike, Jr. Research Grant is:

Guido Cervone

Guido Cervone, associate professor of geography

View 2018 Program